Chris Bryson

Lady Captain 2017



Lady Captain’s August Newsletter

The year is flying and there have been many events and competitions.

The Sivewright League fixtures are now complete and we won five matches and lost three. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all ladies who played in the matches and Ann Young who helped with the organisation.

The Mixed Open had an excellent entry and congratulations should go to Ray and Christine Bell who won the competition.
Congratulations to Shelly Hogg who is Ladies Club Champion with Vanessa Taylor as runner-up.

The Thomlinson Cup first round was held at Billingham, Shelly Hogg and Vanessa Taylor in the silver division beat Wynyard 7 and 6. Pauline Baxter and Valda Grant in the bronze division beat Crook 4 and 2. The 2nd and 3rd round were played at Beamish on 30th August where unfortunately Julie Elliot and Vanessa Taylor were beaten in the silver division, however, Ann Young and Pauline Baxter won both rounds, going to the 19th in both matches, and are through to finals day at Brancepeth on Wednesday 6th September. I would like to wish them good luck.

My Lady Captain’s Day was on Friday 18th August at Morpeth and I would like to thank all those who attended. The weather was kind in that it stayed dry if a little blustery.

The Durham County Ladies Autumn Meeting was held on Thursday 24th August at Ramside. Well done to Yvonne Setchell, Lesley Craig, Vanessa Taylor and Jackie Jenkinson who were 2nd.

The Vets and Ladies Greensomes were won by John Cousins and Vilma Warren. Also congratulations to Vilma who won the Ladies section on Vets Captains Day.

The Invitation Open was held on Saturday 2nd September. Many thanks to all the Ladies who competed on what was a lovely golfing day. The Ladies Section was won by myself and Joan Lawlan from Durham City. Many thanks should also go to Jan Foster and Joan Brown for running the desk on the day.

The season is drawing to a close and the following are the remaining competitions:
Saturday 9th September – Jim Stewart – Mixed Competition
Sunday 10th September – Ladies Captain v Vice Captain
Sunday 17th September – Centenary Salver
Saturday 23rd September – Finals Day
Sunday 24th September – Individual Stableford – Handicap Qualifier
Saturday 30th September – Daily Mail – Foursomes
Sunday 1st October TBA
Sunday 8th October TBA
Date for your diary – Ladies Presentation Evening – Friday 3rd November

Chris Bryson 
Lady Captain

LikeShow More Reactions

Comment